Badges and Awards

Here you can find all information and awards plus links to badge locations

Badges & Awards

There are different types of badges and awards as follows:

Activity Badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges and are specific to each section. These allow young people to develop existing skills and interests, but also to try new things and form new interests. They are designed to be achievable to young people working individually outside their section, on something that is of particular interest to them.

Staged Activity Badges

These badges are available to young people from Beavers to Explorers, and aim to provide an ongoing challenge through the sections. Young people can begin at whichever stage offers them an appropriate level of challenge.

Challenge Awards

These Awards support the main themes of the Programme; outdoor and adventure; world and skills.  They require young people to take part in a range of activities to develop their skills and understanding in a specific area.  Explorers do not have Challenge Awards, but they do have Challenge Areas that reflect the themes.

Core Badges

In addition, there are a number of special badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the section, or for time spent in the Scouting Movement.

Occasional Badges

These are badges that celebrate a special occasion, camp, event or anniversary (for example, Cubs 100) and can be created locally. These can be worn on uniform for a period of time. For guidance on occasional badges, click here.

Fun Badges

These are non-uniform badges, and are often worn on camp blankets.

For where to sow the badges click here:

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls